Tuesday, February 12, 2019

"No Authority on Earth – Not Even the Supreme Authority of the Church – Has the Right to Dispense People from Other Religions from the Explicit Faith in Jesus Christ": Bishop Schneider

"In this way they easily deceive the simple-minded and the heedless. Again, as all who offer themselves are received whatever may be their form of religion, they thereby teach the great error of this age, that a regard for religion should be held as an indifferent matter, and that all religions are alike. This manner of reasoning is calculated to bring about the ruin of all forms of religion, and especially of the Catholic religion, which, as it is the only one that is true, cannot, without great injustice, be regarded as merely equal to other religions." Leo XIII, Encyclical Humanum Genus

Saturday, February 2, 2019


We must y mortify the senses of our body and the powers of our soul.

a) Mortify your eyes. "The other senses are the windows to the soul," says St. Augustine, "but the eyes are their doors." You are not forbidden to see, but you shouldn’t look at dangerous things. Young men should look at all young women as if they were their sisters, and at all women as they would look at their own mother.

b) Mortify your sense of taste, trying not to eat or drink excessively. St. Jerome says: "I will never believe that a drunkard is a chaste man."

c) Mortify your sense of touch, because your body is a sacred vessel that can only be touched or allowed to be touched with respect.

d) Mortify your mind, taking care of the thoughts and memories that can open the door to the enemy, rejecting them immediately.

e) Mortify your heart, in its very sensitive affections, because they begin in the Spirit and come to rest in the flesh (Gal 3.3)


How to preserve sanctifying grace? Avoiding mortal sin. The main means for achieving this are:

1.- To reflect on the last things (death, judgment, heaven and hell).
2.- To flee from occasions of sin.
3.- Mortification (which we have explained before).
4.- To avoid idleness.
5.- Prayer
6.- To frequent the sacraments.
7.-The devotion to Mary.
8.- To fight against temptations.